Starry Sky ~After Spring~ English Patch Released!

000010446

After Spring takes place in Autumn, when the students of Seigatsu Gakuen are busy with preparations for the upcoming cultural festival. They’re holding an exhibition, and some advisors from USA come to help the students. Yahisa Tsukiko, along with her childhood friends Nanami Kanata and Tohzuki Suzuya, are surprised to see their friend Tomoe Yoh there.
Yoh had come to see her in March, but left for America by the end of Spring. It turns out that Yoh is one of the advisors, and he’ll be staying in Japan until the culture festival is over.”

I am sooo happy to announce that yesterday, otomegirlkawaii announced the release of the english patch of After Spring that they were working on! (ノ≧∀≦)ノ You can download the patch here. (Please note that the download only includes the patch.) You can apply it if you already have the Japanese game. There are further instructions in here.

aftspr

As you can see the patch works perfectly fine on me! I used AppLocale to play this because it requires you to change your system locale to Japanese to play this game. So, yeah. I hope you guys enjoy this game! ^_^


Game Installation

If you’ve already tried installing and you messed up, proceed to Step 1. If this is your first time installing, skip to Step 2.

1. Please uninstall the game first. Make sure the game is completely uninstalled. The “Starry☆Sky~AfterSpring~” folder should be completely gone in the directory you installed and you should not see the game in the Control Panel.
2. Change your system locale to Japanese before installing the game. (this step is very important)
3. After restarting your computer, run the setup.
4. Install the game. Just click next until it finishes installing. (After you’ve finished installing it, if you will check the game folder, you will not see any Rio+.arc files in there.
5. Download the version 1.1 update here: http://www.honeybee-cd.com/fan-spring/cont/patch.html
6. Run the updater. After you’ve finished that, check your game folder again. (you should now see a Rio+.arc file in it.)
7. Replace the Rio+.arc file in the game folder with the one in the patch.
8. Run the game. (The game should run perfectly fine now.)

You can play it now while your system locale is in Japanese. OR you can change it back to your original locale and just use APPLOCALE to run play the game. But remember that upon installation your locale SHOULD be in Japanese.

(If you guys need any more help in installing the game/update/patch don’t hesitate to contact me and I will help you! ^_^)


Walkthrough
Suzuya Tohzuki
Kanata Nanami
Yoh Tomoe

25 thoughts on “Starry Sky ~After Spring~ English Patch Released!

  1. SOS couldyou plz help me? The game doesn’t run! I’ve downloaded the game and the patch successfully but when I try to open it some blank window pops up and then some weird error message appears, it says only “???????”. Besides, I don’t know how to use the Config Screen since it’s all written in Japanese! P.S.: Later on, I tried changing the location to Japanese but it still doesn’t work. I’ve got Win 8 and “Starry Sky – in spring” works just fine in my pc. Thanks in advance! I loved your blog!

    • Hello! ^_^ I understand the error that you’re encountering now and I noticed a lot of people encountered this. For the meantime, please uninstall the game first. Make sure the game is completely uninstalled. (ASGARD folder should be completely gone in the directory you installed and you should not see the game in the Control Panel.)

      Then follow these steps upon installing.

      1. Change your system locale to Japanese before installing the game. (this step is very important)
      2. After restarting your computer, Run the setup.
      3. Install the game as you installed it before. (After you’ve finished installing it, if you will check the game folder, you will not see any Rio+.arc files in there.)
      4. Download the version 1.1 update here: http://www.honeybee-cd.com/fan-spring/cont/patch.html
      5. Run the updater. After you’ve finished that, check your game folder again. (you should now see a Rio+.arc file in it.)
      6. Replace the Rio+.arc file in the game folder with the one in the patch.
      7. Run the game. (The game should run perfectly fine now.)

      You can play it now while your system locale is in Japanese. OR you can change it back to your original locale and just use APPLOCALE to run play the game. But remember that upon installation your locale SHOULD be in Japanese.
      If you have further problems don’t hesitate to e-mail me so that I could help you more. ^_^

  2. Hi, first of all, I really like your blog and I’d like to thank you in advance for actually taking the time to help dummies (like myself) with these technicall stuff.
    Unfortunately, I’ve found a problem with my .ISO. After installing the game patch, everything’s good. I actually can see the .arc file. Do I ONLY need to replace that file? Because on the intructions that come with the english patch it says that I should replace the files that come with it with the ones of the game. Also, how can I do that? Is there a special program to be able to remove files/delete from an ISO? It’s already mounted, and I currently use Daemon Tools but the option of deleting files doesn’t appear??

    • Hello! Thank you for visiting my blog. And you’re very welcome, I’m glad to be of help. ^_^
      You can just replace the files on the folder where you can see the .arc files without needing any program. Just copy the files from the english patch you downloaded (Rio+.arc, ED00.dat, etc.) and then, go to the folder where you installed the game, and paste the copied files there. It will prompt you that the files already exist and will ask if you wanna replace them, just choose Yes and it should be fine. 🙂

  3. Hello, I already managed to install the game and patch properly, but when I try to save my game, it doesn’t work. Do you have any idea of what is the problem please ??

    • Hello! I’m sorry, I’ve not encountered the same problem but is the patch you downloaded the first/second release? If not, you might wanna try downloading the final patch and the problem might not occur anymore. ^_^

  4. Hello~ A big thank you for everything you and all have done! :3
    Right now I’m kinda having a weird issue- So I’ve set up the game and it’s patch, but when I try to move the english patch and replace all the .arc files, I get an error message saying that there’s not enough space on SSDISK1 and that I need an extra 1.35 GB of space. Erm, what should I do?
    Thank you for your time!

  5. Hello! I need help! I installed the game, but when I grabbed the 1.1 patch and put it in my install directory, I kept getting an error. I’ve changed my locale and renamed the folder so it doesn’t have any weird characters. What am I doing wrong?

  6. I installed the patch and game but for some reason after I replaced the Rio+.arc file the game was still in Japanese.

  7. Hello. Sorry for my bad English. I swear that I followed your adivices for the tutorial. I have my system local in JAPANESE, I have the game who work very well… in Japanese. I have Rio+….. BUT when I launch the game. It is still in japanese. I am very upset. ;__;
    Can you help me plz ?

  8. Hello. I don’t understand, when I try to launch the game, it posts up something in japanese, and that’s all. Can someone help me please? I really want to try this game. (Sorry for my bad English, I’m French.)

  9. Hello.
    I already installed the game with the patch, but sadly when I go to save it doesn’t work. ;w;
    Can someone help me please ? ;w;

  10. I’m having the same problem as some of the others. I followed you directions to a t but still it wont work :/ I changed my locale (in fact it stays Japanese and I can play other japanese games on it just not this one for some reason) and put the rio+ arc in the right folder but when I go to push ok to start it a window pops up with an x and a bunch of question marks…any advice?

  11. Hi, Please help!
    So I followed your instructions from above. I changed my laptop language to Japanese and restart it, then I installed the game like told and once it was installed successfully, it load the updater patch afterwards I replaced the Rio+.arc file with the english patch file and when I tried to load the game it didn’t work, an error pop up saying Direct Input. I already tried to re do the steps like 3-4 times but it’s still the same.

Leave a Reply

